Training to be an Antenatal Teacher, Breastfeeding Counsellor or Doula

Training courses in the UK are sourced from three types of provider:

1. Statutory Profession Entry awards

These are Profession-specific academic awards attached to a specific profession i.e. Midwife, Medical Doctor.

Some sectors of these professions grant facility under statute that the registered individual may provide Antenatal Education. This is sometimes restricted to a specific facility such as the NHS.

These awards are always externally validated and the educational requirements for profession entry are governed by each professions regulatory body:

Nursing and Midwifery Council
The General Medical Council

The work of these regulators is overseen by the Government via the Professional Standards Authority for Health and Social Care (PSA) – formerly the Council for Healthcare Regulatory Excellence.

2. Private Providers

There are a wide range of private education providers in the UK with a diverse range of course content, ethos and practice.

In 2010 FEDANT introduced the National Course Accreditation and Verification (NCAV) Process for course providers in the UK. The process ensures that accredited courses are operating within agreed parameters and include a set of core elements as defined by the profession.

FEDANT Approved Courses are mapped against the relevant competencies in National Occupational Standards and link where appropriate with the applicable dimension within the National Institute for Clinical Excellence QS22 Quality Standard for Antenatal Care

Graduates from FEDANT accredited courses which have been approved via the NCAV process are seen to meet the educational requirements for admission to the National Register.

Accredited Course List

Each FEDANT Accredited Course is subject to annual review.

3. Funded and Charitable Providers

A number of charities and funded bodies provide training courses in the Antenatal Education and a myriad of related fields. Many of these courses are internally awarded. These courses have NOT been subject to the requirements of FEDANT Accreditation.

Graduates from courses which are awarded at an appropriate level by a recognised academic institution fulfil the educational requirement for admission to the FEDANT National Register.

Funded and Charitable providers include:

Association of Breastfeeding Mothers (ABM)
International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE)
La Leche League
National Childbirth Trust  (NCT)

Back to Profession Entry Routes and Requirements